Summer reading for children

This is another post for the Friendly book nook’s Summer reading extravaganza. I don’t have kids but I thought I would tell you about some of my favorite books that are designed for teenagers or young people.

1. the Ranger’s Apprentice books- Ranger’s Apprentice is the title of a fantasy series by author John Flanagan. The first book in the series was released in Australia in November 2004 and in the United States in June 2005[1]. So far, seven books have been released in Australia, with other countries including the United States and United Kingdom following behind. The series follows the adventures of Will, an orphan who becomes an apprentice Ranger, and his master Halt as they strive to keep the Kingdom of Araluen safe from invaders, traitors and threats. John Flanagan has stated in an auto-reply to those who email him, “To those of you who wrote to tell me you enjoy the books, thank you so much. I really do enjoy hearing from you. We’ve just signed a movie option deal for the series so it’s looking good for at least one Rangers movie in the next few years. Maybe more.” This was exciting news for me.

2. The Harry Potter series

Once again I’m sure I’ll think of more later so be on the lookout for more posts in coming days.

3 Responses to “Summer reading for children”

  1. jessi Says:

    I’ve never heard of the Ranger’s Apprentice series, but it sounds a bit like Robin Hood. I’ll have to check that out. 🙂

  2. sccuddlers Says:

    The Ranger’s Apprentice Series sounds interesting. I LOVE Harry Potter!!!!

  3. Emma Says:

    Have you read the His Dark Materials trilogy? Because reading what you wrote about the rangers books I was wondering if they were a similar sort of thing?

Leave a Reply

