A letter to those I admire

Dear caringbridge and carepage and blog friends,

Many weeks ago I was given the homework task of writing to a person I admire now I’m not usually one to leave my homework to the last minute but I really struggled with this one. I struggled to find somebody who I’d admired. I think this is because my own values have been changing so much lately and the qualities that I admire in other people are also ever changing. When once I would have chosen a sportsmen such as Mark Skaife or a singer such as Adam brand for the way they haven’t let fame go to their heads and their dedication to their chosen careers, I have recently began to look at life in an entirely different light.

I now admire too many people to just name one. I admire the kids and adults who go through chemo with a smile on their face, I admire those who learn to walk and talk again through laughter and not tears.

I have been called an inspiration many times since I started my caringbridge site and my carepage. I don’t see myself as doing anything other than living my life as best as I know how and trying to be the best person I can be. If this helps others in some way then it is a bonus.

I have learnt a lot about myself and how I want to live my life from the people who use the sites and their families. I have learnt that it is more important to live each day as if it’s your last than to sweat on the small stuff, however the little things are what makes me happiest.

I have also come to realise that no matter how bad the stuff going on in my life seems at the time there is always somebody going through more than I am. Despite, this it is okay to get on with my life as best as I can and I will always have the support of those who love and care about me.

There is much more that I have learnt and too many people that have helped me to realise all this. In short if you are reading this then I admire you and thank you for your inspiration.

Love Karen.

Leave a Reply

